Search Members Help

» Welcome Guest
[ Log In :: Register ]

Page 1 of 212>>

[ Track This Topic :: Email This Topic :: Print this topic ]

reply to topic new topic
Topic: Strike Indicator< Next Oldest | Next Newest >
 Post Number: 1
joesnuffy Search for posts by this member.

Group: Members
PostIcon Posted on: Mar. 17 2008,22:16  Skip to the next post in this topic. Ignore posts   QUOTE

So this is the first I've ever used a strike indicator.  I caught 3 fish, but missed at least ten.  Why would I be missing the hook set? I'm on very slow moving water and striping in any slack.  To set the hook I'm giving a quick-strip.  I can feel the fly coming out of their mouth. Using size 16 nymphs.  Any thoughts? thanks all
Top of Page Profile Contact Info 
 Post Number: 2
thefly Search for posts by this member.

PostIcon Posted on: Mar. 17 2008,22:33 Skip to the previous post in this topic. Skip to the next post in this topic. Ignore posts   QUOTE

Joe , I am no trout expert, but just look at angles here.

If you are fishing an indicator down the leader , then you have 90 degs angle to the fly , so thats a huge amount of slack to pick up , also , the bouyancy of the indicator means you have to strick against that first which automatically lifts the fly up and out..

On the rivers I have fished recently I have nail knotted a short butt section to the fly line , and an inch behind that , I have whipped an inch section of 8/0 flouro orange utc thread, forward and back then coated very lightly in aquasure.

I watch this flouro section as I fish and watch for the stop or jag under , I feel , more direct to the fish , and an all round better indicator.

just mt $0.02c worth.
 Post Number: 3
Viking Lars Search for posts by this member.

Group: Super Administrators
PostIcon Posted on: Mar. 17 2008,22:43 Skip to the previous post in this topic. Skip to the next post in this topic. Ignore posts   QUOTE

Joe is on the right trail here!