PLEASE NOTE: In order to post on the Board you need to have registered. To register please email paul@sexyloops.com including your real name and username. Registration takes less than 24hrs, unless Paul is fishing deep in the jungle!

Hello. From Florida.

If you are new to the board please tell us about yourself...
paulrad
Answers: 0

Hello. From Florida.

Post by paulrad »

Hello. My name is Paul. I grew up in Florida (southeastern USA), lived in Colorado for about 15 years, and now I'm back in Florida. I work in IT (my advise would be don't get into IT in case anyone is curious). Other than fishing, I spend a lot of time surfing and shooting guns. I mostly fish saltwater flats of Mosquito Lagoon or backcountry type creeks here in east central Florida. On the flats I'll generally use an old, leaky canoe. I hate the canoe so I'm currently working up the nerve to spend a bunch of money on a fishing kayak. In the backcountry I'll use a johnboat with a 9.9HP.

I really enjoy casting a fly even though I'm not especially great at it. Sometimes I'll even practice my casting! :yeahhh: I have gone in a couple casting competitions and thoroughly enjoyed it even though I'm not in any danger of winning.

One thing I've been looking for is some kind of chart showing various loop shapes and how they are formed. I notice on my forward cast an odd sort of shape (definitely a fault of some sort) that I'd like to figure out. It's a bump on the bottom leg of my loop. I'd think that a handy chart giving me some ideas on fix actions might be helpful.

What else??? I used to have loomis crosscurrent GLX rods in 6, 8, 10. I realized they didn't fit my casting style and I now have Hardy proaxis one piece in 9 and 10 and a Scott Meridian in 7. I much prefer these to the CCGLX's. But the thing is that I don't really understand why. I just know I cast them better, and they don't feel like I've got so much mass I'm having to deal with.