PLEASE NOTE: In order to post on the Board you need to have registered. To register please email paul@sexyloops.com including your real name and username. Registration takes less than 24hrs, unless Paul is fishing deep in the jungle!

Leader limpness

Moderator: Torsten

Lou Bruno
Answers: 0

Leader limpness

Post by Lou Bruno »

I'm reading up on leaders. Does the leader material diameter change with its limpness (hardness?) So, the harder the material, the smaller it's diameter. Is material limpness related to material hardness.
Any relationship to limpness with mass?

Lou
Paul Arden
Site Admin
Answers: 2

Leader limpness

Post by Paul Arden »

Hi Lou,

Hardness/limpness can be independent of diameter. That bit I do know!

Cheers, Paul
It's an exploration; bring a flyrod.

Flycasting Definitions
Graeme H

Leader limpness

Post by Graeme H »

I'm not a proper expert on these things but as far as I know (based on what I know about physics), the mass is of higher consideration that stiffness, but there should not be any sudden changes in stiffness within the system. By that I mean the butt section of the leader should be of similar stiffness to the thinnest part of the line and there should not be an impediment to bending.

It seems I can get by with limp leader materials as long as the taper of the mass is consistent. When I'm making leaders, I don't want the material to get stiffer than any section above it, but I haven't experimented enough to give you better answer.

Cheers,
Graeme
FFi CCI
Paul Arden
Site Admin
Answers: 2

Leader limpness

Post by Paul Arden »

I have some very stiff tippet materiel that I was given to test. It's 40lb Hatch Flouro. I've found that the stiffness is a problem. Apart from the difficulty it presents when tightening knots, it causes the loop to open unexpectedly as the leader turns over. (I would not normally use Flouro incidentally).

Cheers, Paul
It's an exploration; bring a flyrod.

Flycasting Definitions
Lou Bruno

Leader limpness