PLEASE NOTE: In order to post on the Board you need to have registered. To register please email paul@sexyloops.com including your real name and username. Registration takes less than 24hrs, unless Paul is fishing deep in the jungle!

"Practice fly" ?

GaryO
Answers: 0

"Practice fly" ?

Post by GaryO »

I am new to all this and just took my first Orvis 101 class on Saturday. The rods they provided us did not have flies tied to the leaders. Question: Do I need a "practice fly" tied on when I practice casting? Thanks...
Gary O

NRA
Paul Arden
Site Admin
Answers: 2

"Practice fly" ?

Post by Paul Arden »

Hi Gary,

If I'm practising I usually use wool on the end. If I'm practising targets over water a comp fly with the bend removed. If I'm practising over long grass I'll cast without the fluff, sometimes, but I think it's best to practise with fluff.

Cheers, Paul
It's an exploration; bring a flyrod.

Flycasting Definitions
Galah

"Practice fly" ?

Post by Galah »

Hi Gary,

I am far off a casting expert and perhaps unqualified to dish out advice. That's the disclaimer.

IMO it depends what you're practicing for. I don't know what they do in competition, but I practice to improve my fishing casting and so I always have a fly tied on. The line casts quite differently with a big saltwater or pike fly tied on than with nothing at all. Even a fat moth or terrestrial pattern causes a big difference to me or on a light rod.

So I have tied some super bright fluro flies, just for visibility, and cut the end off the hook at the bend. On the sharp cut end, I apply a small blob of UV goo so there's a round ball instead of sharp bit of cut metal. I have these in various sizes for different weight rods and some with weighted eyes too.

For me there's a massive difference casting a big weighted fly to casting a leader. I want to learn to make fishing casts personally, so that's my personal approach.