PLEASE NOTE: In order to post on the Board you need to have registered. To register please email paul@sexyloops.com including your real name and username. Registration takes less than 24hrs, unless Paul is fishing deep in the jungle!

Pairing lines to rods

Moderators: Viking Lars, Magnus

Carol
Answers: 0

Pairing lines to rods

Post by Carol »

There is a fly shop that tries to set itself apart by saying they specialize in matching lines to rods. I'm not an expert by any stretch of the imagination, but my instinct calls bullsh1t on this. It seems to me that there are too many variables and too many preferences to be able to claim that kind of expertise: size of fly, personal preference in rod flex, casting distance, casting ability, specific use, brand and model of fly line .... Am I wrong for thinking it's malarkey?
Carol
Because it's painful getting flies out of spruce trees.
Mangrove Cuckoo

Re: Pairing lines to rods

Post by Mangrove Cuckoo »

Well... the shop is probably full of experts, so this is their expert opinion.

So, yes...its bullshit.

Out of curiosity, is this the shop that does "shoot outs" and tells which rods are better than others?
With appreciation and apologies to Ray Charles…

“If it wasn’t for AI, we wouldn’t have no I at all.”
Paul Arden
Site Admin
Answers: 2

Post by Paul Arden »

I would be more impressed if they were matching rods to lines instead of lines to rods! I think it’s something that all tackle shops do. Generally you look at the number on the rod and the number on the box. The problem is the number on the box can be wrong (and often is) and the number on the rod can be, well surprising!
It's an exploration; bring a flyrod.

Flycasting Definitions
Lasse Karlsson

Post by Lasse Karlsson »

I'd call BS, but what do I know 😊

Cheers
Lasse
Your friendly neighbourhood flyslinger

Flycasting, so simple that instructors need to make it complicated since 1685

Got a Q++ at casting school, wearing shorts ;)
Carol

Post by Carol »