PLEASE NOTE: In order to post on the Board you need to have registered. To register please email paul@sexyloops.com including your real name and username. Registration takes less than 24hrs, unless Paul is fishing deep in the jungle!

two observations from a student

Moderators: Paul Arden, Bernd Ziesche, Lasse Karlsson

Richard
Answers: 0

two observations from a student

Post by Richard »

Hi,

I'm a student in fly casting. I have been doing it for a few years now, had some lessons, read some books and down to the road hope to be passing knowledge along to newcomers in the field, because I just LOVE the game. Therefore currently studying the FFI materials and I bluntly disagree with anyone I like and respect and who would outperform me easily with their hands tight behind their back. I'm trying to indicate that I find it quite cumbersome to type this message, but after 6 months of trying not to, I still feel the urge to give people a good laugh with the following.

For obvious reasons, newcomers are taught not to use the wrist. It's a floppy thing: https://www.perfectgolfswingreview.net/ ... natomy.jpg , in more than one direction, causing mayhem in terms of loop size and tracking. So, the first 6 months you go from 10 to 2 (or somewhere in that range) with a stiff wrist until you move on to the next phase. Which is learning about the 5 essentials. great stuff! You start learning to vary your casting arc, you learn about translation and rotation and after another year's of practice with hardly any wrist you start wondering about the gap between your own casting and that of your instructors'. Luckily, well at least in my case, about that time I learned about Bruce Richards' six step method. It was only then that I could put myself not to look at those gorgeous loops of my instructors, nor to look at when the rod was translating and rotating, and instead focus on the body, especially the arm and WRIST.