PLEASE NOTE: In order to post on the Board you need to have registered. To register please email paul@sexyloops.com including your real name and username. Registration takes less than 24hrs, unless Paul is fishing deep in the jungle!

New FFi TH certs?

Moderator: Lee Cummings

Mangrove Cuckoo
Answers: 0

New FFi TH certs?

Post by Mangrove Cuckoo »

Hey folks,

I got a couple questions...

Is anyone familiar with the new FFi certifications (2) for Spey casting? And, if so, do you have any comments?

I am getting more and more requests for lessons for "Trout Spey". It seems to be getting popular over here. I have some experience with Spey casts, especially single hand, but I also have a few traditional DH rods that I have played with. But, I am hesitant to claim I am at teaching level.

So, when I heard that there was a CI level for the TH cert I thought I would look into it. The original TH certification was always something I thought I would do some day, but I realized it was beyond my level and I did not have the time nor inclination to take it on. I saw it as something even higher than my MCI. Now that there is a CI level I might could handle that if I put my mind to it. If nothing else, it would give me some more confidence for teaching.

Second question... looking over the suggested books and videos, I was surprised to see that there were no recent ones listed. The most current one I saw was 2010!

So, can anyone suggest a book or video of quality that is up to date?

Here in Florida, there is very little call for traditional Spey, but Skagit seems more aligned with our larger, heavier, sinking flies. So that is really what I expect will be most useful. As to Trout Spey, my trout fishing buddies flew right past it when Euro style nymphing addicted them all.

Thanks in advance!
With appreciation and apologies to Ray Charles…

“If it wasn’t for AI, we wouldn’t have no I at all.”
Lasse Karlsson

Re: New FFi TH certs?

Post by Lasse Karlsson »